State Senator Samuel Zurier Endorses Sandra Cano for Congress

 State Senator Samuel Zurier Endorses Sandra Cano for Congress
Share it

PROVIDENCE, RI – State Senator Samuel Zurier (SD3 East Side of Providence) today announced his support and endorsement of Sandra Cano in the race for Congressional District One. Zurier joins his fellow East Side progressive leaders State Representative Edith Ajello, State Representative Rebecca Kislak, former State Senator Gayle Goldin, and State Senator Meghan Kallman, who represents Pawtucket and part of the East Side, in supporting and endorsing Sandra Cano for Congress.


On why he is endorsing Cano, Senator Zurier said, “Sandra is respected in the Rhode Island Senate for her deep understanding of policy, and for her commitment to using her knowledge to introduce and advance important legislation that best serves the people of our State. I am confident that Sandra’s education, experience, character and devotion to public service provide her a strong foundation to represent us effectively in Congress.”


Sandra Cano said of Zurier’s endorsement, “Senator Zurier’s support means so much to me. Sam is a thoughtful and deliberate leader and is very much in touch with his district and his voters. He is a man of the people. I am proud to have earned his support.”


Zurier, who was elected to the State Senate in a special election in 2021, joins the movement of sixty-five leaders and organizations that have endorsed Sandra Cano for Congress and are working in their communities to get out the vote for Sandra in the Democratic Primary. This includes knocking on doors, making phone calls, sending emails and texts, and hosting events.


Cano has received three major Rhode Island union endorsements, including both teachers unions: Rhode Island Federation of Teachers and Healthcare Professionals (RIFTHP) and National Education Association Rhode Island (NEARI); as well as the United Nurses and Allied Professionals (UNAP).


Cano has also received the endorsement of the Cumberland Democratic Town Committee, Jamestown Democratic Town Committee, Lincoln Democratic Town Committee, and was named a Moms Demand Action Gun Sense Candidate.


Endorsements from local leaders include:


Mayors: Cumberland Mayor Jeff Mutter, Pawtucket Mayor Don Grebien, North Providence Mayor Charlie Lombardi, former Cumberland Mayor Bill Murray, and former Pawtucket Mayor Robert Metivier;


State Senators: Senate President Dominick J. Ruggerio (SD4 North Providence, Providence), Samuel Bell (SD5 Providence), Louis DiPalma (SD12 Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton), Dawn Euer (SD13 Newport, Jamestown), Valerie Lawson (SD14 East Providence), Majority Leader Ryan Pearson (SD19 Cumberland, Lincoln), Meghan Kallman (SD15 Pawtucket, Providence), Robert Britto (SD18 East Providence, Pawtucket), Melissa Murray (SD24 Woonsocket, North Smithfield), Mark McKenney (SD30 Warwick), Pamela Lauria (SD32 Barrington, East Providence, Bristol), Alana DiMario (SD36 Narragansett, North Kingstown, New Shoreham), Former East Side State Senator and Women’s Rights Advocate Gayle Goldin (SD3 East Side of Providence), and former State Senator Jim Seveney (SD11 Portsmouth, Bristol, Tiverton);


State Representatives: Edith Ajello (HD1 Providence), Rebecca Kislak (HD4 East Side of Providence), Joshua Giraldo (HD56 Central Falls), Karen Alzate (HD60 Pawtucket, Central Falls ), House Majority Floor Manager John “Jay” Edwards (HD70 Tiverton), and former State Representative and Gun Safety Advocate Linda Finn (HD72 Portsmouth, Middletown);


Municipal Leaders: Pawtucket City Council President Terrence Mercer, Pawtucket City Council At-Large Members Michael Araujo, Roberto Moreno and Yesenia Rubio; Pawtucket City Council Members Mark Wildenhain, Neicy Coderre, and Marlena Martins Stachowiak; the entire Pawtucket School Committee (members James Chellel Jr., Chair, Kimberly Grant, Deputy Chair, Joanne Bonollo, Jennifer Carney, Gerard Charbonneau, Erin Dube, and Marsha Fernandes); as well as Central Falls Officials Robert Ferri (City Council President), Tatiana Baena (City Council At Large), and Hugo Figueroa (School Board Member and former City Councilor); North Providence Councilors Dino Autiello (Town Council President), Steven Loporchio, Ronald R. Baccala, Jr, and Ken Amoriggi; Bristol Town Council Member Timothy Sweeney; and Portsmouth School Committee Juan Carlos Payero (Vice Chair); Cumberland Town Council Members Lisa Beaulieu and Bob Shaw; Cumberland School Committee Member Mark Fiorillo; former Cumberland Town Councilors Jim Higgins, Stephanie Gemski, and Thomas Kane; Jamestown School Committee Members Kristine Lapierre (Chair) and Agnes Filkins (Clerk); Warren Town Council President John Hanley.


Sandra Cano has been serving Rhode Islanders for over a decade. She is the only candidate in this race with legislative experience at every level of government in Rhode Island. On the Pawtucket School Committee, she worked to defend the public education system that welcomed her as a teenager in this country. As a Pawtucket City Councilwoman, Sandra saw how city government directly affects residents, and she worked to shape policies that had a positive impact on their daily lives. Now in the State Senate, Sandra proudly gives voice to the diverse communities of District 8. Sandra is chair of the Senate Education Committee – the first Latina to hold the position. She serves as a member of the Senate Finance Committee and the Permanent Joint Legislative Commission on Child Care. If elected, Sandra will be the first Colombian American woman to serve in Congress.

Share it

LPR News